Nonparametric Statistics and John Kerry


I was quietly studying for my nonparametric statistic midterm, when I decided to check on the Presidential Tracking Poll as I have been doing for the past 2-3 months. I keep it as up to date as I can, and today I am proud to say that John Kerry is leading with 48.4%!! This is the first lead Kerry has had since August 23rd… Apparently, it is the senator’s highest total since August 17th too. This is great. This is giving me some hope for the elections.

I am apparently not alone in thinking that something like what happened in Florida might strike again for these elections. According to Rasmussen Reports, fifty-eight percent (58%) of likely voters are somewhat or very worried that another Florida-style mess will mar the end of Election 2004. It wouldn’t surprise me at all, but it would make me very angry for sure. I mean, it is sooo crazy that someone like Bush can get away with a total mess like what happened in Florida.

On a happier note, I think my nonparametric exam should go pretty well. I am still trying to figure out all the details about the normal approximations in the population model and then I am on to the discussion of the power and the alternative hypothesis. I really like that class, it’s super interresting. More details on Election 2004 to come.

