You, Me and Dupree [7.5 out of 10]


You, Me and Dupree 2006
Director: Anthony Russo & Joe Russo
Writer: Mike LeSieur
Main Actors: Owen Wilson, Kate Hudson, Matt Dillon, & Michael Douglas

Cleaning night tonight. I was just cleaning out my paper tray when I came across this movie stub. And so even though I have seen this movie three weeks ago already, I felt the urge to write a little something about it. Admitedly, this was the last movie I saw at the theater. Yes, yes. I’m a little behind movie-wise.

So the movie is about Dupree (Owen Wilson). A 30-something guy who all of a sudden loses his job and ends up losing his apartment. However, this does not seem to affect Dupree’s happiness, and somehow finds a way to stay at his newly wed friends’ (Kate Hudson & Matt Dillon) house. The rest of the movie is basically the series of events that are triggered by this sudden change in plans.

According to an interview by Owen Wilson, the film plot depicts events that really happened in his life with his brothers. Owen says:

I know that my older brother says that Luke and I wrecked his first marriage because we were always staying at his house. We had a ladder set up so we could go into the second story window. One time Andrew had locked me out and I needed to get some of my clothes and I fell through the ceiling.

The movie in general was pretty funny, and I did enjoy Owen Wilson’s performance (And Kate Hudson, of course!). Matt Dillon did a pretty good job as well. However, I didn’t give it a huge score simply because it was too much at times. Too heavily based on Owen Wilson’s character goofy style and not enough clever jokes that makes you laugh out loud. I felt like some of the jokes could have been much funnier if they had put a little more effort in the writing. Overall, the movie was pretty good though. Worth renting (and maybe buying! But Bonnie doesn’t think so.).

Here’s my favourite quote from the movie, when Dupree goes to a job interview for a Sales Job:

(Owen Wilson) “I’m a people person, very personable. I absolutely insist on enjoying life. Not so task oriented. Not a work horse. If you’re looking for a Clydesdale I’m probably not your man. Like I don’t live to work, it’s more the other way around. I work to live. Incidentally, what’s your policy on Columbus Day?”
(Employer) “We work.”
(Wilson) “Really? The guy discovered the new world. I’m afraid to even ask about Victory Over Japan Day.”

Reviews and Info

Rotten Tomatoes gave a 4.4/10 so far: You, Me and Dupree at Rotten Tomatoes
IMDB gave a 5.5/10 so far: You, Me and Dupree at IMDB
The Movie Trailer at Apple: Trailer from Apple

Trailer from YouTube
Leave a Reply

