Windows Vista: Finally here.


The world’s biggest software maker announced, earlier this week, the final prices for the new Windows Vista, according to an article from Reuters.

The new operating system has been in the making for about 5 years now. It has seen no less than four new operating systems released by its major competitor, Apple : Puma (September 25, 2001), Jaguar (August 24, 2002), Panther (October 24, 2003), and Tiger (April 29, 2005). A couple of months later and it would have also witnessed the birth of the brand new OS from Apple: Leopard.

Personally, I am pleased to hear the news as it will be nice to get a fresh new look from Windows. I am tired of looking at the (now) boring look of Windows XP these days. So let’s hope that Windows did their homework and hired really good designers to make their product more appealing to all of us. The release of Windows Vista might secure microsoft a couple more years of my business seeing as I was wondering if I should switch to Mac for my next desktop. Only time will tell. But, I don’t think I see a switch anytime soon though, I think having a Powerbook G4 as a laptop and a windows-based desktop machine is the perfect setup in the software developing world.

So, in a nutshell, Microsoft has released the RC1 (Release Candidate 1) edition of the operating system to about 5 million people last week and should be fixing bugs for the next couple months. Chances are that there will be no official release date announced for the next couple of weeks, but I am sure glad to hear about this RC1 release.

