The World is Flat [7 out of 10]


The World Is Flat [Updated and Expanded]: A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century by Thomas L. Friedman I really enjoyed this book, even though at time I found it very lengthy. It discusses the fact that technology, such as the world wide web and fiber optic cables, is shrinking the world even more than the industrial revolution of the 1900’s. Friedman uses the success of certain Indian companies, such as Wipro, Tata Consultancy Services, and Infosys Technologies, as example to show the possibilities that the flatten world offers. He presents, in the first part of his book, the ten flatteners that are reshaping the world as we know it today. I liked the examples he presented in the book and found his way of explaining technology really easy to understand. He chose his examples really carefully, and he seemed to have had a lot of experiences worth sharing with the reader.

In my opinion, the main problem with the book is that it could have been about 100 pages shorter (this newly edited/expanded version is about 580 pages long). And usually I don’t mind lengthy books, because it helps me really understand the points, but I found that some of the ideas were repeated and/or some of the subjects were out of scope. I don’t really care to give any particular examples here, but I felt that at many points in the book. Overall though, it was a really good book. Well worth buying and reading. One can only grow and learn a lot about the new world by reading it. Admittedly though, it scares me to think of the future after reading the book.

Thumbs up to Friedman, he captured my attention and I will surely pick up a copy of his next publication. He is a very talented writer.

Leave a Reply

