Late Night Puzzle #3


Challenging Mathematical Problems With Elementary Solutions, Vol. 1Two hunters A and B set out to hunt ducks. Each of them hits as often as he misses when shooting at ducks. Hunter A shoots at 50 ducks during the hunt and hunter B shoots at 51. What is the probability that B bags more ducks than A?

I’ve come across a couple of very interesting puzzles in the book I am reading at the moment. I’ll try and share some of my favourite ones with you every now and then. Feel free to take a guess at the answer for this puzzle by commenting to the post. I’ll post my answer in a couple of days/weeks. By the way, you should check out this book, it’s full of fun and challenging mathematical problems.

Leave a Reply

