WordPress upgrade from 2.2 to 2.3.3


I’ve been very reluctant to upgrade WordPress because of the dreadful “backup” that needed to be done in advance. My problem was not that I didn’t know how to backup my databases, but more that I am just simply too lazy to undertake the task. Well, also the fact that they mention it just scares me and makes me think that I may have to re-install lots and lots of things.

If you a little like me and you’re scared to try to upgrade your wordpress engine… well, fear no more! I did it in about 30 minutes, following wordpress’s superb three step process, and this including the upgrade of a handful of plugins (about 10 of them). Yes, among other things, WordPress 2.3.3 will tell you when a plugin is out-of-date and which, to my surprise, helped me realize that most of my plugins were due for a tune up.

The nicest thing about this upgrade is that my site is now using a much more secure, powerful, and faster blogging engine. It also fixes some glitches with my new template K2 which were really annoying me. The problem was that when I was browsing categories, I would get the following error:

WordPress database error: [You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ” at line 1]
SELECT wp_posts.post_date_gmt FROM

That was because the fine folks behind the latest K2 template were using the new mySQL database structure that WordPress introduced in their version 2.3.

I am usually reluctant to install a new version because of all the little bugs that tend to come out. I specifically waited a little while before installing, but now that I know that it takes about 30 minutes to upgrade, I don’t think I’ll wait as long next time. I highly recommend moving to 2.3.3!!

3 thoughts on “WordPress upgrade from 2.2 to 2.3.3

  1. Dude, I’m still scared. 🙂 Just installed 2.3.2 and wondering if 2.3.3 is worth the ‘hassle’ just yet. Although after your post i’m much less hesitant. Thanks for the tips.

  2. Hey Bryan! I’m not sure what the difference between 2.3.2 and 2.3.3 are. I wonder if it’s really worth the hassle because I think that wordpress is coming up with a new version pretty soon. It was due sometime in March. They are moving from 2.3.3 directly to 2.5! Ha ha. Lot’s of stuff will change then… so you may want to wait a little bit!

Leave a Reply

