Tour de Bloc 8: Boulderz


Boulderz was the host of the fourth competition in the Eastern division this year. Although the gym is quite a bit smaller than other venues, they managed to create space by splitting off the climbers into three groups (two on Saturday and one on Sunday). Andrew and his team of setters (Chris Muzilla, Tony Berlier and Aaron Eden) did a great job at putting up problems for both qualifiers and finals. Even though two of the men’s final problems, #2 and #4, were maybe slightly too hard, they still made for a great show! More importantly, they also seperated the finalists pretty well. Congrats to TJ Quan for winning his first ever Tour de Bloc competition! Once again, team Allez Up did very well!

Here are a couple of my favourite pictures from the comp. Visit the Tour de Bloc site or my flickr photostream for more pictures.

La quatrième compétition de l’Est était à Boulderz la semaine passée. Malgré le fait que le centre d’escalade est plutot petit, les organisateurs ont quand même réussis à créer de l’espace en séparant les compétiteurs en trois groupes (deux le Samedi et un le Dimanche). Andrewet son équipe d’ouvreurs (Chris Muzilla, Tony Berlier and Aaron Eden) ont fait un super bon travail avec les blocs de qualifs et les blocs de finales. Malheureusement, deux des problèmes de finale des hommes étaient un peu trop difficile (#2 et #4), mais ils étaient quand même super intéressant à regarder! Ils ont aussi fait une très bonne séparation des finalistes. Je me dois de féliciter TJ Quan pour sa toute première victoire dans un Tour de Bloc! Et encore une fois, le team Allez Up a très bien réussi la fin de semaine passée!

Voici quelques-unes de mes photos préférer de la compétition. Allez visiter le site du Tour de Bloc ou mon photostream flickr pour plus de photos.

And now for the results:

Men

  1. TJ Quan
  2. John Bowles
  3. Ayo Sopeju
  4. Dustin Curtis
  5. Travis Van Ryn
  6. Max Dugal
  7. Remy Chrusten
  8. Andreas Lerch

Women

  1. Eva Pepin-Helie
  2. Erin Ford-Zieleniewsky
  3. Cloe Legault
  4. Iyma Lamarche
  5. Pia Graham
  6. Hedvig Lokay

TJ qualifying strongly
TJ qualifying strongly.

Cloe finishing problem #2
Cloe finishing problem #2.

Erin working problem #4
Erin working problem #4.

All stretched out on problem #1.
All stretched out on problem #1.

Dustin showing off on problem #1.
Dustin showing off on problem #1.

6 thoughts on “Tour de Bloc 8: Boulderz

  1. Je trouve la première photo d’un réalisme ou d’un irréalisme incroyable. J’ai l’impression de regarder un personnage fait à l’ordi; quand je regarde ses mains je n’ai pas l’impression qu’elles sont réelles. Je les trouves tout simplement très belles tes photos Miguel; je ne suis pas une experte mais je trouve que ce sont de très belles photos d’escalade. Bravo mon p’tit homme. Jos doit être très fier de toi.

  2. Salut maman! Merci pour ton message. C’est super encouragent de lire tes messages! J’aime beaucoup la première photo aussi! C’est TJ qui a gagner la compétition en plus! Jo est frier de moi je suis sûr. Il aime tellement mes photos! Bonne journée. xx

  3. Fantastic pics Mig, the angle on that shot of Dustin is very cool and the colours and contrast on these photos gives them a nice intensity. Did you do anything with them in photoshop or is this straight from the camera?

    All in all great work! See you at the TN stop.
    D

  4. @david: Thanks a lot! I did edit them a little bit in post-production. I have a couple of standard things that i normally do to the photos (like removing some noise and adding some sharpness) and every now and then I add some contrast and play with the colors a little (like the Dustin shot). Thanks for the note! I’ll see you at the True North competition for sure man! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

