More Water Splashes


This post is mostly for Matthew. Last post was a review of a water splash i had done a long time ago, but I wasn’t able to get the focus and the quality I was looking for. Well, i’m glad to say that this time, I was able to figure out a way to trigger my SB-600 with a shutter speed much faster than 1/250th of a second. In fact, these pictures were taken with my SB-600 fired at 1/5000th of a second. The nice thing here is that I was able to shoot at ISO 400 with a f-stop at about 22, which keeps everything in focus (more or less). Hopefully, Matthew, you prefer these ones! I do!

For the others interested in climbing pictures, stay tuned, there is a climbing comp coming up in January and, in February, we are going on a three month road trip to the Southwest. I can’t wait! Until then… indoor studio shots. Enjoy!


More splashes from today:

5 thoughts on “More Water Splashes

  1. Super la photo, félicitation Bonnie.
    Si vous avez le temps pouvez-vous me donner de vos nouvelles. Que faites-vous durant les fêtes.
    Je vous embrasse xxx

  2. Congratulations Mig, these are much more crisp than your first set. Keep up the creativity! Another solution might be to use a zoom lens which compresses the focal planes and lets you get a little more in focus at f5 for example. I’m curious how you triggered your camera or if you took hundreds of photos and got lucky with these winners.

    1. Hey Matthew, I had a cord trigger and I just got lucky. But there was not much luck involved actually. I took only about 10-15 photos and they all had a splash of some sort. I am getting very good with the timing. 🙂 By the way, I was already using a 120mm zoom on these shots and had it pre-focused on the glass. I guess I could have tried the 200mm, but my apartment isn’t that big! I need a real studio! ha ha The only next thing to try, maybe next year, is to have a real studio light and a strobe. More light will bring more quality to the shot i think. stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

