Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest, California


Last week, we spent another rest day walking around the beautiful country side of California. This time around, we visited the Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest, near Bishop, in the Inyo National Forest. The forest is host to the oldest living organism on earth. The trees are anywhere between 2,000 – 4,700 years old! I’ve wanted to visit this place for a long time, after having seen amazing pictures of the trees. I was really excited to finally make it happen. Here are some of our favourite shots from the walk. Enjoy!

* click an image for larger size (cliqué sur une image pour la voir en grand format).

4 thoughts on “Ancient Bristlecone Pine Forest, California

  1. This is one place I really wanted to visit on my trip last April. Now I know I need to return. What lens are you using in your night shots? Looks like a wide angle but hard to be sure.

    1. hey colin. I was using a 10.5mm fisheye lense. That’s the widest lense I have. My body is not a full frame (D300). I’d love to have a proper wide angle, but for now that’s all i have.

Leave a Reply

